Babydoll 4-14

Ensemble Theatre Company – “Baby Doll” 4/13/17 New Vic Theatre
Ensemble Theatre Company – “Baby Doll” 4/13/17 New Vic Theatre. Lily Nicksay (Babydoll) and Asher Grodman (Silva Vacarro)

Starting this out I need to say how busy I’ve been lately, I have hardly had any time to even just relax and have time to myself anyways. The last show I saw before the crazy Bullets grind started(next blog post) was Babydoll at the New Vic downtown Santa Barbara. I ended up just going by myself but it was so good I was content with not having anyone to share it with.

Ensemble Theatre Company – “Baby Doll” 4/13/17 New Vic Theatre. Lily Nicksay (Babydoll) and Asher Grodman (Silva Vacarro)

The first thing I noticed when I walked in was the set and the lighting palette, it was a whole house that they built on the stage. The lighting on stage was so good it really made me feel into the show, and it hadn’t even started yet. I had pretty good seats in the middle, the seats in that theater are pretty angled so I could see the top of the house too where some scenes happen.

Ensemble Theatre Company – “Baby Doll” 4/13/17 New Vic Theatre. Shawn Law (Archie Lee) and Lily Nicksay (Babydoll)

The show was based in the 50s, it’s based off the movie “Babydoll” which is about two rival cotton gin owners in Mississippi. Babydoll is what one of the main men calls his wife. When he commits arson at the other owners gin, all hell breaks loose as the other owner comes over and knows something fishy is going on.

The sort of abuse that goes on between Archie Lee and his wife is seen right away by the gin-less owner, Silva, and he tries to get the answers through her(she isn’t as educated).

Ensemble Theatre Company – “Baby Doll” 4/13/17 New Vic Theatre. Lily Nicksay (Babydoll) and Wendy Phillips (Aunt Rose Comfort)

The only other real character is Aunt Rose Comfort who is sort of like the house nurse, she’s sort of clumsy and gets in the middle of things without really realizing it. During the whole show I felt very immersed, the acting was amazing. There wasn’t a point where I didn’t believe them as if they were really in Mississippi. Ensemble always does a really good job with their shows and I’m going to enjoy seeing more and more of them. I’ve been nothing but impressed. Seeing as I’m a little backed up, more posts will be out within the next couple of days. I’ve been busy lately with new shows as well!

 

Ensemble Theater is also doing something this summer called the Young Actors Conservatory, if I wasn’t going to be busy this summer I even would’ve considered it. It’s a new program that is for people ages 14-18 who are looking for learning better how to have a stage presence. There will be training focused on improving your acting, voice, and other techniques as well as some special guest speakers. For more info on dates and cost check out the site here.

 

 

All the pictures were taken at the New Vic Theater with Ensemble Production Co. and credits for the production photos go to David Bazemore check his stuff out here

Leave a Reply

